My situation - Any advice?

Old Oct 27th 2008, 10:28 pm
Forum Regular

nzwasp is on a distinguished road
Default My situation - Any advice?

So my situation is that I am a New Zealander in Calgary. I've been here since March 2007. I have met a lovely girl and we have been living together for a couple of months. My current visa runs out on the 4th of March and I plan to work right up until the expiry. Its a working holiday swap visa, I used a working holiday visa from 2007-2008 and now im on the swap one for 2008-2009. I have pursued another work visa but the process is taking some time. I have asked my employer too provide me with one and I think they are submitting the LMO this week and hopefully that wont take too long and then I can file for a work permit, unfortunately this will only be a six month work permit because I am a contractor to another company and they have only guaranteed my contract until Sept 2009.

I tried to get a permanent job here to go that route with an lmo and workpermit but not many employers are keen to hire InfoTech staff if they have to arrange a visa which takes months to process.

I really want to stay for my girlfriend so im trying to pull out all the stops.

I would like to apply for the CEC but looks like im going to be 1 week shy of having the 2 years experience which is a real bummer I think if I have no other options I will probably submit for this and see if they decide to approve it anyway.

My other options I think could be commonlaw sponsor once we have been living together 12 months - although i've heard this is hard - I'd be waiting along time with no job in Canada which is a real bummer.

Also I think I might be able to get a retail (shudder) job in Calgary because the lmo/workpermit is like 5 days or something because of that expedited process.

The other option would be marriage however hopefully they wouldnt think it was just for immigration purposes - but with unfortunate timing.