Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Joining Canadian girlfriend for duration of her studies

Joining Canadian girlfriend for duration of her studies

Old Apr 13th 2020, 1:27 pm
Just Joined

louisaanja is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Joining Canadian girlfriend for duration of her studies

Hi all

I am trying to figure out the best/easiest way for me to join my Canadian girlfriend for two years during her studies, and am hoping someone can point me in the right direction. Details of our situation:

My Canadian/Swiss girlfriend is planning to start her 2 year masters degree in September, at Queen's University, Kingston, ON. I am hoping to accompany her and live and work in Canada for those two years. We currently live in Switzerland, where she grew up and I've lived for the past 3.5 years. I am a British/German dual citizen, and grew up in the UK. I have a masters degree in biology and have worked for the past 1.5 years as a data scientist, and will be looking for similar 'highly skilled' scientific-related work. We have been together for 3 years and by August will have lived together for 1, so will be classed as common law partners.

I've been looking into Express Entry or Family Sponsorship options, but these seem overly complicated and lengthy considering that I am only planning on going there for two years, not permanently. I've also been looking at the (Spousal?) Open Work Permit, which seems like it would fit our situation if my girlfriend was an international student? But I'm not sure if its applicable given that she is Canadian. Can anyone offer me any more insight into any of these options, or let me know if there's another option that I've missed?

Many thanks!