IT Jobs in Canada

Old Jan 2nd 2005, 7:16 pm
Forum Regular

graphicsdesigner is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation IT Jobs in Canada

Hi,

Could anyone help me get some information regarding the job situation in Canada.I am Working as a Web/Graphics Designer in Kerala, India.I would like to land at Toronto, as i heard that Toronto is having more opportunities.Is this correct?

Also Please let me know, what all things(professionally as a designer) should i prepare inorder to start working as a Designer in Canada.

For instance, about the portfolios.Is there any particular way which it should be created.Any educational updations needed to work in Canada.( i am a graduate in Business administration,have completed one Quick Pro course in Web Designing and E-commerce from IBM, training center.

Also what all things should i prepare, and bring from India inorder to get my qualifications assessed under the Canadian Standards once i have reached Canada.

I have refered to some of the job sites.Other than this if anyone can give personal experiences or opinions i would be thankful.

Regds
Pramod.P
Old Jan 3rd 2005, 2:35 am
Forum Regular

viperrt10 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: IT Jobs in Canada

Hi there,

IT job hunters face grim prospects to say the least - you should look at the Lifestyle forum to find out more. Employers want candidtates with Canadian, or at the very least North American experience. Also they prefer locally educated people. One of my buddies who settled in Toronto had to work at Subway (as a sandwich artist ;-) for a while before he could find a decent job. He had a masters degree from a VERY decent US University and 3 years of IT consulting experience in Europe and America.

General consensus is that it's VERY difficult for newly landed foreign immigrants to find IT jobs immedietly. It takes time, loads of luck and mental strength.

Take care!

Originally Posted by graphicsdesigner
Hi,