Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

I've made the decision, Canada is calling!

I've made the decision, Canada is calling!

Old Jan 5th 2010, 5:57 pm
Just Joined

elliothaughin is an unknown quantity at this point
Default I've made the decision, Canada is calling!

Hi everyone,

First of all thanks for such a great forum, it's a wonderful resource and has some fantastic little 'gems' of info on moving abroad.

For some time I've been considering moving away and after much consideration I've decided that Canada is the country for me.

I'm currently studying for a BSc in Computing Science and the University of Aberdeen. I'm in my first year and will be looking to apply for my visa after completing my degree (2013) - Yes, I know it's a long way off, but things like moving to another country should be planned way in advance.

I do have some questions though.

Firstly, I've been right through the CIC website, and I believe the best option for me will be the skilled workers class. I'm a freelance web developer and have been in web development for 5 years.
(I'm 23, decided to start working first then get a degree later)

After completing my degree I will start my application process, because the degree will boost my 'points'.

I have however previously received a criminal conviction. In 2005 I was charged with the 'Misuse of a Computer', for which I pleaded guilty, and received and 18 month condition discharge. (Which in essence says that if I do nothing wrong for 18 months, there's no punishment, but if I was convicted of something else during this period I would also receive a punishment for the original offense) This was my first and only offense.

Anyway, the 18 months went and passed with no run-ins with the law, and haven't ever since.