Immigration/visa advice

Old May 19th 2015, 8:52 am
Just Joined

SkierDave is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Immigration/visa advice

Hi all,

I was hoping to get some advice on immigration/visas for Canada. I’ve grown tired of being in the UK and wish to move away to Canada (ideally only for a few years, but depending on how that goes, permanent residency is a strong possibility). I know some processes can be long, but I would like to be there by this time next year.

I’ve got my sights set on Vancouver. I have friends over there who I visited about 8 weeks ago. Absolutely loved it there and decided that’s where I wish to be.

A little about me:
I’m a 29 year old male, single, no family in Canada. I have a BEng in Computer Systems Engineering and by trade, I’m a software engineer. I’ve been employed as one in the UK for the past 5 ½ years.
I’ve done a lot of research already (both on this forum and on the Citizenship and Immigration Canada | Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada site). I see 3 possible options which I’ll go through below with any questions I have.

Option 1
I wait till next year’s (2016) IEC’s and apply for the 2 years (next year is my last chance as I turn 30 in October). My only issue with that is, I’m putting all my eggs into one basket. If I managed to get one, fantastic, if not, I almost have to look into the other options but starting from early next year. Also, I believe no one will really know when they will be out. Previous years they seemed to come out around January, but this year they were late (March). Is there any reason to think they’ll be back being released in January again?

Option 2