On IEC, switching to Tourist

Old May 15th 2012, 6:02 am
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 5
jamiemonster is an unknown quantity at this point
Default On IEC, switching to Tourist

I have an IEC working holiday permit that expires the end of September, I've been a complete idiot and put off filling out my application for another year and now there's just over 500 places left and I'm really worried I won't get mine in in time. I have all the paperwork filled out I just have to get the police certificate and I'm good to go. Does anyone know if you definitely have to get a new police certificate? I have a duplicate of the one I got in June 2011, I definitely can't use that? Also for current proofs of address it asks for does that mean Canadian or UK address?

The main question I had coming here was my visa expires end of September but the applications for next year don't open til Januaryish, would I be able to switch to a tourist visa for six months and then apply while on that and then switch back?

I have enough money to tide me over for the six months hopefully.
jamiemonster is offline  
Old May 15th 2012, 9:28 am
  #2  
SUPER MODERATOR
 
christmasoompa's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: In a darkened room somewhere.............
Posts: 34,033
christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: On IEC, switching to Tourist

Sorry to say, but if you've not applied by now, there's no way you'll have yours in on time - as you'll notice, the 500 places was as of 3rd May, the website hasn't been updated since then, so I very much doubt that those 500 visas haven't gone in the past 12 days.

You can try, but if no luck then yes, you can switch to a visitor visa. Or, as per your other thread, get your boss to apply for the LMO asap (it'll take 12-16 weeks going on current timelines quoted by HRSDC, so you don't want to delay!).

HTH, good luck and welcome to BE.
christmasoompa is offline  
Old May 15th 2012, 4:22 pm
  #3  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 5
jamiemonster is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: On IEC, switching to Tourist

Crap, well I'll send it off anyway and see what happens. How do I go about changing my visa over to the tourist one?
jamiemonster is offline  
Old May 15th 2012, 4:32 pm
  #4  
SUPER MODERATOR
 
christmasoompa's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: In a darkened room somewhere.............
Posts: 34,033
christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: On IEC, switching to Tourist

Originally Posted by jamiemonster
Crap, well I'll send it off anyway and see what happens. How do I go about changing my visa over to the tourist one?
Definitely worth a try in case there are any left.

You can either go to the border or apply online.

christmasoompa is offline  
Old May 15th 2012, 4:34 pm
  #5  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 5
jamiemonster is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: On IEC, switching to Tourist

Thanks for your help! Sending off the paperwork today, pissed at myself that I put it off so long. I started it back in February but kept pushing it off cos I didn't apply til June last year. Guess its been more popular this year
jamiemonster is offline  
Old May 15th 2012, 5:42 pm
  #6  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 57
dan09uk is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: On IEC, switching to Tourist

Originally Posted by jamiemonster
Crap, well I'll send it off anyway and see what happens. How do I go about changing my visa over to the tourist one?
i did this last year, you do it online pay $150 comes in the post.
dan09uk is offline  
Old May 24th 2012, 6:58 pm
  #7  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 32
jennlitt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: On IEC, switching to Tourist

Originally Posted by dan09uk
i did this last year, you do it online pay $150 comes in the post.
How did you do this online? I'll have to do it next month and the only option I saw other than going to the border is sending an application to Vegreville. Could you link me to a website by any chance?
jennlitt is offline  
Old May 24th 2012, 7:46 pm
  #8  
SUPER MODERATOR
 
christmasoompa's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: In a darkened room somewhere.............
Posts: 34,033
christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: On IEC, switching to Tourist

Originally Posted by jennlitt
How did you do this online? I'll have to do it next month and the only option I saw other than going to the border is sending an application to Vegreville. Could you link me to a website by any chance?
http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/e-services/index.asp

christmasoompa is offline  
Old May 24th 2012, 7:50 pm
  #9  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 57
dan09uk is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: On IEC, switching to Tourist

Originally Posted by jennlitt
How did you do this online? I'll have to do it next month and the only option I saw other than going to the border is sending an application to Vegreville. Could you link me to a website by any chance?


http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/e-servi...tend-visit.asp

you upload a picture of your passport and proof of means of finacial support. I went to the bank and got them to write a letter stating I had $XXXX of funds available.
dan09uk is offline  
Old May 25th 2012, 2:41 pm
  #10  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 32
jennlitt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: On IEC, switching to Tourist

This is the best, thank you guys so much!
jennlitt is offline  
Old Jun 25th 2012, 2:12 pm
  #11  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 32
jennlitt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: On IEC, switching to Tourist

Hi again, I have a followup. So I applied to change status online on June 1st (when the processing time was 19 days, not 36 days as it is now!) And My work permit expires on July 4th. They are currently working on apps received on May 9th... so it's unlikely mine will be processed before my visa expires.

This means a trip to the border. Do I need to tell them that I have another status change in process, or should I cancel my online application? Any advice on this? I'm not sure what the best route is now.
jennlitt is offline  
Old Jun 25th 2012, 5:09 pm
  #12  
PMM
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
PMM's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 9,708
PMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: On IEC, switching to Tourist

Hi


Originally Posted by jennlitt
Hi again, I have a followup. So I applied to change status online on June 1st (when the processing time was 19 days, not 36 days as it is now!) And My work permit expires on July 4th. They are currently working on apps received on May 9th... so it's unlikely mine will be processed before my visa expires.

This means a trip to the border. Do I need to tell them that I have another status change in process, or should I cancel my online application? Any advice on this? I'm not sure what the best route is now.
No, you don't require a trip to the border. As you applied prior to your status expiring, you have implied status until you receive a response from CIC.
PMM is offline  
Old Jun 25th 2012, 6:10 pm
  #13  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 32
jennlitt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: On IEC, switching to Tourist

Oh wow, really? That's great. Thank you for the info. Once I hear from them, if by chance it is negative, will they give me time to re-apply or go to the border or am I just booted out?

Thanks!
jennlitt is offline  
Old Jun 25th 2012, 6:26 pm
  #14  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 32
jennlitt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: On IEC, switching to Tourist

Also, just to be clear, does Implied Status apply to the IEC visa holders? I know on it they say no extensions or anything. I'm probably just worrying about nothing but I don't want to make a mistake and ruin my immigration status. Thanks!
jennlitt is offline  
Old Jun 25th 2012, 6:35 pm
  #15  
PMM
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
PMM's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 9,708
PMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: On IEC, switching to Tourist

Hi


Originally Posted by jennlitt
Also, just to be clear, does Implied Status apply to the IEC visa holders? I know on it they say no extensions or anything. I'm probably just worrying about nothing but I don't want to make a mistake and ruin my immigration status. Thanks!
No extensions for work, but the OP is applying for an extension as a visitor.
PMM is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.