British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration & Citizenship (Canada) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-canada-33/)
-   -   I think I am in trouble (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-canada-33/i-think-i-am-trouble-719735/)

newscientist Jun 5th 2011 11:15 pm

I think I am in trouble

Hi every one,
I am preparing my application for skilled worker PR when I found myself stuck in this situation. Please give me a hand if you can!

I am an international student and have spent the last three years in Canada. My wife came with me with an open work permit that had no condition regarding working in child care, although my wife was never asked to make a medical exam. So she started working in this field. Last December, I extended my study permit and my wife’s work permit. Unfortunately, her new work permit came with the condition: “Not authorized to work in child care”. By that time, my wife was already a daycare staff!

I called the CIC and they told me that the first work permit is the wrong one and that my wife is not allowed to work in child care until she makes a medical exam and waits until its results delivered to CIC then apply for a new work permit. The new one should not include this condition.

We followed these instructions and got her medical done right away, then waited a month then tried to fill the work permit application online. But my wife continued to work in the daycare during these weeks. While filling the work permit online application, there was a question asking if the applicant had ever violated the Canadian law, and if yes how would I explain this. At this point I did not know what to do!

Option 1 was to admit that she has been working for the last few weeks although she knows it is not allowed
Option 2 was to ignore the whole thing. It was the CIC mistake from the beginning and we were not expecting changes in the new work permit.