HIV Working Holidays Visa

Old Mar 10th 2021, 8:45 pm
Just Joined

leelo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default HIV Working Holidays Visa

Hi everyone,

total newbie here but I’m hoping you can help me with some advice for a bit of a pickle I’m in.

I’m from the U.K., I’ve wanted to move to Canada for years, with a view to becoming a citizen.

I’m 30, so I thought I’d take the last chance I have by applying for the working holiday visa, going through a company to help secure a job for me out there due to the current covid redirections etc.

However, I’m HIV positive, undetectable for a few years now - perfectly healthy aside from a few pills a day. I’ve done as much research as I can into how this changes things for me - but there’s not a lot out there for non citizens or non-refugees...

I understand that as a non-citizen I don’t get covered with healthcare - which is understandable - but does anyone have any experience on how it much it costs over there privately? And even though I’m on a 2 year visa I’m only allowed to bring 90 days worth of meds with me - Am I understand that wrong or is there any way around that?

I’m just terrified something I can’t control is going to ruin my dream of moving there

I fully understand the potential issues around permanent residency with HIV but I’m a little way off that at the moment since I’m going down the working holiday route first.

any advice would be so appreciated here before I start throwing money into this and I appreciate it’s a bit niche of a problem!

L
Old Mar 11th 2021, 2:24 am
Banned

Siouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond repute