Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Help - Proof of intention to re-establish in Canada

Help - Proof of intention to re-establish in Canada

Old May 23rd 2011, 10:56 pm
Just Joined

CannuckHeadingHome is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Help - Proof of intention to re-establish in Canada

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie to the forum but have already got a huge amount of help from reading the Wiki, articles, and the forum. However, I cannot find an answer to this particular issue. Hopefully someone out there can help.

First a bit of background. I am a Canadian/British dual citizen and have been in the UK since 1987. My OH is British by birth and we have been together for 22 years so I don't think we should have difficulty proving our common-law relationship. My OH retired last year and I have just been made redundant and so plan to finish work. We want to move to Canada and plan to move our pensions and assets over as soon as his PR is granted.

So - now for the problem: I do not have a job offer, house, property rental or other obvious way for me to prove that I am planning to re-establish in Canada - as required for the Sponsor Questionnaire. I have started discussions with a financial advisor in Canada to begin transfer of our pension funds and other assets. However, I do not want to start moving a lot of money and buy a house until we get his PR. I am just a natural pessimist and so am afraid that it might not be granted (although I cannot see that there should be any problem!).

I have seen that plenty of folks have made sponsorship and PR applications from the UK. Has anyone done this without a job offer, educational acceptance, etc ? What should I put on the form to convince them that we are really going to move ?

Any suggestions or experience would be gratefully received !

Thanks
Sue
Old May 23rd 2011, 11:06 pm