Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Good news (finally!) - Work Permit Application Question

Good news (finally!) - Work Permit Application Question

Old Oct 9th 2016, 11:13 pm
Forum Regular

gwoodhouse is an unknown quantity at this point
Talking Good news (finally!) - Work Permit Application Question

Hello,

As some of the regulars will remember I've been at this for a while, but we've finally figured a way to experience Canada.

My partner will be Studying in Canada (Got accepted to a 2 year course starting January!) and as so we're applying for a Student Permit for him and I'll be applying for an attached Open Work Permit (Plan being that I work as a Software Developer to support my Partner while we're there).

Our application includes a section to include "Purpose of Travel - Other (required)" in order to give evidence that we're not planning to stay permanently - But I can't attach return flight tickets as it's a 2 year course and we're planning to stay for two years.

We're renting our house here in the UK ready for us to come back to but I'm not sure how to make documentation out of that.

Do people know what they're expecting for "Purpose of travel" when linked to a Student Permit? Or any ideas what I can attach here? Not sure how to document "We have friends and family here".

Also, this is all seeming pretty straight forward - I'm kind of waiting for the bottom to fall out of it as we're not doing this through Visa agents. If we get anything wrong in the application, I assume they'll just ask us for the missing info and continue with the application rather than reject it wholesale?

And there won't be any restriction on the work permit apart from time will there? cic website suggests there *could* be restrictions on the type of work but doesn't go into detail of why ?

As always, thanks very much for any help

Wish us luck!

Graeme
Old Oct 9th 2016, 11:27 pm