Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Foreign Software Engineer Apply for Work Permit (I have an Offer)

Foreign Software Engineer Apply for Work Permit (I have an Offer)

Old Aug 7th 2015, 11:21 am
Just Joined

BlueSky123 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Foreign Software Engineer Apply for Work Permit (I have an Offer)

I'm an international student studied in the US and got a master degree in computer science. I received an offer of software engineer in Vancouver. Now I need a work permit to work there.

The employer is a very large internet company. The title of the job is Software Development Engineer in Test. The pay is very well, and the company has its own lawyers to handle the immigration issues and provide assistance to me to apply for a work permit. But I am just a new college grad, do not have work experience.

I did some research myself. Seems that I need to pass the LMIA, and then apply for a work permit, and it could takes months. But still I do not know much about the work permit/visa process in Canada.

How likely can I get a work permit/visa for the position in Vancouver successfully? Normally how long it takes to get a work permit for such a position? Is there any risk that the work permit/visa will not get approved?

Can someone give any comments on my case? How easy or hard it is? Any risk? Thank you very much!
Old Aug 7th 2015, 12:15 pm
BE Forum Addict

withabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Foreign Software Engineer Apply for Work Permit (I have an Offer)