few questions regarding visas etc

Old Jul 6th 2008, 7:51 pm
Forum Regular

kalaar is an unknown quantity at this point
Default few questions regarding visas etc

Hi,

Bit of background as it may help any answers.

I'm 33 and currently working as CAD manager for a firm that produces architectural models out in Dubai, been here about 2 years. Before that I was a Design and Innovations Engineer for a company called Morphy Richards, worked there for 9 years after leaving university. Left university with a Diploma of HE in Marine Studies (yes, a rather eclectic and unrelated mix of education and work experience ).

My fiance (been together over 5 years so no problems with her being classed as common-law) is 27 and currently works for the same company I do, making the architectural models that I draw. She also worked for 18months at Morphy Richards (where we met) and has a BSc in Industrial Design.

We are both wanting to move to Calgary for various reasons but a good mix of lifestyle (we both ski, I kayak, bike etc) and work opportunity were top of the list, the fact that I have friends from university already working there sealed the deal.

We both sent off resumes and a company in Calgary offered both of us a job as they have been advertising for ages with no success and we seem to be exactly what they need. So first step done relatively easily. We sent the company a whole bunch of links found either via Google or the excellent wiki on this site and they are currently looking into applying for an LMO(s). In the same email we also pointed out that professional advise on their part would probably ease the app process and probably speed things up.

Now onto the questions