Express Entry help

Old Sep 19th 2019, 7:59 pm
Just Joined

LittleHoudini is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Express Entry help

Hi all,
Newbie here, and in the very early stages of getting the ball rolling with 101 questions so any advice would be amazing.

My partner and I (not married) are looking to move over to Canada (ideally Calgary) within the next 12-18months. As Luke is 32, he can't apply for the IEC therefore we are both hoping to apply via the express entry visa scheme. I work in HR and he is a Mechanical Fitter which both appear on the 'wanted' list of expat skills.

​​​​Neither of us have a job offer, is it possible to get PR without a job offer? Or do we need to get the ball rolling and then look at applying for roles? If we enter the 'pool' of applicants, what is the timeframe we are likely to be in here? Are we able to continue saving the expected funds or do we need to have proof of funds at the initial application point?

How do people go about searching for work, from experience are online job applications from UK citizens taken seriously? Or would we be best off visiting for a few weeks and 'networking'?

If we are successful, and invited to apply for PR, what is the time frame for completion? If we get accepted for PR are we limited to how soon we have to move?

Looking into booking the IELTS to get that out of the way, and understand we will need to purchase biometric testing but is the full application possible without the assistance of a third party? I'm seeing several websites which, for a fee, will assist you in the process - not something we want to splash out on, can it be done by ourselves?

Any advice, hints, tips and guidance would be amazing, like I said, we are still in the very early stages but keen to get everything moving.

Thanks for reading!
​​​​​​
Old Sep 19th 2019, 8:05 pm
BE Forum Addict