Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Express entry applying with dependant without valid visa in country of residence

Express entry applying with dependant without valid visa in country of residence

Old Feb 5th 2017, 6:07 pm
Just Joined

MDeegee is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Help!Express entry application

Hello all please I need advice as I am really confused on what to do.
I am about to apply for the federal skilled worker programme under the express entry, the cic questionnaire says I am eligible to apply and I would like to apply as the main application with my spouse and daughter as my dependants. I'm a medical doctor from Nigeria, I'm currently in the UK doing my MBA which started Oct 2016 and would like to make my move to Canada from the UK taking my family with me.
My wife has now spent 7 years in the UK but just a month before she gave birth to our daughter in Nov 2015 she lost her valid stay in the UK due to the fact that her employer at the time refused to extend her tier 2 work permit at the last minute. This didn't give her enough time to sort her affairs or get a new employer plus her having a new baby which regretably resulted in her overstaying in the uk beyond the validity of her visa. She later made an application under the flr fp 10 year route since beginning of 2016 to try regularise her status in the UK but the home office only just replied last week asking for additional information which she has been unable to provide so she's now losing all hope in them granting the application.

My question now is can I apply for our Canadian PR in the UK with her and my daughter as my dependant's bearing in mind she doesn't have a valid leave to remain ? My daughter was born in the UK and doesn't have any passport yet
Or will she and my daughter have to travel back to Nigeria to put in their own application and can they apply at the same time as me?