Establish own business with OWP

Old Jan 31st 2011, 6:15 pm
Just Joined

SwissBread is just really niceSwissBread is just really niceSwissBread is just really niceSwissBread is just really niceSwissBread is just really niceSwissBread is just really niceSwissBread is just really niceSwissBread is just really nice
Post Establish own business with OWP

We are moving to Canada in June and will apply for TWP and OWP at POE. I am a Baker and have my own business here in the UK. Will it be possible for me to establish my own business (bakery) on an OWP? Does anybody have experience or done this before? We will be living in Vancouver, BC. Thanks for your help.
Old Feb 2nd 2011, 9:13 am
Just Joined

SwissBread is just really niceSwissBread is just really niceSwissBread is just really niceSwissBread is just really niceSwissBread is just really niceSwissBread is just really niceSwissBread is just really niceSwissBread is just really nice
Post Re: Establish own business with OWP

Hello everybody

Some views but no reply yet. Can anybody help?

Maybe I need to clarify a bit. My husband will apply for a TWP at Port of Entry (Intra Company Transfer) and I will apply at the same time for an Open Work Permit (Spouse).

Does anyone know if I will get the OWP on the spot or if the application might take longer than my husbands (I've read once that it could take up to a month)?

If I am successful in getting a Work Permit, will I be able to set up a business and work for my own business with an OWP (Vancouver, BC)?

It would be great to get some infos or thoughts. Many thanks!

Regards, Kristina
Old Feb 2nd 2011, 10:55 am
Professional Cat herder