Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

EE recording of professional qualifications - ICAEW

EE recording of professional qualifications - ICAEW

Old Mar 3rd 2019, 2:23 pm
Just Joined

James_bk_fun is an unknown quantity at this point
Default EE recording of professional qualifications - ICAEW - HELP

Hi everyone

I’m new to posting on here but have read a fair bit, therefore firstly thanks everyone for creating the wealth of useful information on here. Hugely valuable!

I’m looking into moving to Canada through express entry and a couple of things have me stumped. It’s specific to my education and I’d really appreciate your input.

I’m reliant on my qualifications to to achieve enough points but I can’t work out how to correctly record them. I have a bachelors degree and an ICAEW chartered accountancy (professional) qualification. The latter is generally recognised (in the UK, EU etc) as the same level as a Masters degree.

I thought therefore that I should be recording this within the CRS as either ‘two or more certificates’ or ‘Master’s degree’. These would give me either 450 or 458 points total as they combine with my English language ability to give me 50 points in section B (Skills transferability factors). Happy days I thought, should be enough.

Not so simple.....

My issue is none of the education validation companies seems to be able to, willing to, validate my ICAEW chartered qualification. They specifically say they don’t validate professional qualifications. I’m not sure where it leaves me as just including my degree in isolation leaves me at 425 points.

Has anyone encountered this before?