British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration & Citizenship (Canada) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-canada-33/)
-   -   early planning stage (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-canada-33/early-planning-stage-921612/)

Cookie1980 Jan 31st 2019 5:54 am

early planning stage

Hi All,
I am looking for advise, help and maybe being pointed in the right direction. Myself and my wife are in the early discussion of deciding whether to emigrate to Canada and doing alot of research and just getting completley confused.
Just to give you some background. I am 39 years old and a Collections and Recoveries Manager in the vehicle finance industry which I have over 15 years experience in the area and debt collection. Qualifications wise I have my GCSEs and studied at college at an advanced GNVQ level ( equivalent to A levels). My Wife is 36 and is a Customer Service Manger and again qualifications GSCE and BTEC in Mangement, but did have 5 years experience as an health care assistant about 10 years ago.
Couple of questions if I may:
With the experience and qualifcations we have would this be enough to be able to emigrate or would the advise be to maybe retrain to another career that there might be a shortage of or obtain a degree of some sort?
The visa process seems a bit complicated and wondered if its worth obtaining a work permit first and then late down the line getting PR?
Do you need to set an English exams?

I am sure these types of questions have been asked previously and thank you in advance for any help and advise you may be able to give.

christmasoompa Jan 31st 2019 8:42 am

Re: early planning stage

Hi, and welcome to BE.

Originally Posted by Cookie1980 (Post 12630109)
With the experience and qualifcations we have would this be enough to be able to emigrate or would the advise be to maybe retrain to another career that there might be a shortage of or obtain a degree of some sort?