Do you think we have a chance?

Old Sep 4th 2015, 4:02 am
Just Joined

Jenga2020 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Do you think we have a chance?

Hi All, I am a newbie and I could do with some opinions..

I have recently returned from a holiday to Victoria BC to visit family. I have a sister, brother in law, niece, nephew, uncle, aunt and 3 cousins living there.

Myself, my partner of 8 years and our sons fell in love with the place and want to emigrate.

This is our situation.

Me aged 38, high school educated, 20 years working experience, have been a territory manager for a global medical company for 3 years.
Partner - aged 36, currently a mature student working part time, just finished a high level diploma and continuing onto a degree next week for 1 academic year as a top up to his diploma. With a view to completing a MSc. after that.
1 son aged 12 - this is where it gets complicated, he is my son from a previous relationship and has regular contact with his father. I need to wait until he is at least 16 before we leave. (I think)
1 son aged 9 - he is my partner's son. he lives with his mum and sees his dad on weekends.

So my questions are:
1. Do I need to wait until my son is 18 rather than 16 in the eyes of the Canadian laws?
2. Should my partner try and get into Canada on a student permit to do his masters? If so can he apply for work after that or would he need to return to the UK
3. Is the best route in for me to try and get a job offer or even a transfer through my current company?
4. Can we put my partners sons details on the application even though he may decide not to come?
5. Does having a sister there hold any hope? (we have 2 living parents in the UK)
6. Will I have any problems taking my son into Canada if he is still classed as a dependant and his father is not with us?
7. If we enter on a student visa, can I still apply for a work permit or even get a job offer?