Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Difficulty of Changing PR application from spousal to CEC

Difficulty of Changing PR application from spousal to CEC

Old Feb 14th 2017, 8:32 am
Just Joined

englishman111 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Difficulty of Changing PR application from spousal to CEC

Hello everyone,

I have recently applied for PR last year via common law spouse (inland). We are semi confident that it will be approved though we have paused it currently due to unforeseen circumstances. We are now planning on applying again for my PR though due to my CL spouse and I needing to leave Canada for around 6 months at he end of 2017 we need to re apply another way. I was told the inland process takes about 2 years to complete and that if you leave Canada in that time, it would be deemed void? Is that correct? I am a qualified electrician in England and Canada (red seal) and have almost 2 years work experience here. I was thinking I would re-apply through the Canadian experience class, which is supposedly a lot quicker processing and granting and allows us to leave the country when needed? I have a temp work permit until late this year.
Any help would be greatly appreciated
Thanks

Last edited by englishman111; Feb 14th 2017 at 8:37 am.
Old Feb 14th 2017, 8:35 am
Just Joined

Default Re: Difficulty of Changing PR application from spousal to CEC

Also I was wondering if it was possible to contact the cic and change the application to a cec application or would I have to completely cancel the inland spousal and re-apply from the beginning with the Cec.
Old Feb 15th 2017, 1:14 am
Concierge