Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Determining Residency in Ontario

Determining Residency in Ontario

Old May 1st 2024, 11:03 pm
Just Joined

louisehilton is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Determining Residency in Ontario

I've lived in Ontario for about 15 years. Now I want to return to the UK for about 5 years, to do some traveling. I'll be leaving a lot of my stuff here in Ontario, at my son's place, and I'll be returning to live with him after about 5 years. I've bought a small flat in England, and have taken things like some clothes there, but bought most things like a bit of furniture, pots and pans etc. in England.

I'd originally thought it was just a matter of figuring out where I spend most of the time, but I now know it's much more complicated than that!

I've filled out a 'determination of residency' form to determine my residency in Canada, and I suspect they'll say I'm still a Canadian resident for tax purposes, as I have so many ties to Canada, and I'll even be spending about 4 months a year in Canada on vacation to visit my grandkids and great nephews.

1) IF Canada decides that I'm still a resident for tax purposes, does that mean I'll still be able to get GST rebates, etc.
2) How do I determine my residency in Ontario? I can't find anything on the Ontario website, but the federal form specifically asks if I'm still considered a resident of the province. If I'm a resident of Canada / Ontario for tax purposes, will I still be covered by OHIP?
3) If I'm a Canadian resident for taxes, how does that affect my British taxes? It sounds like I may be a resident of both countries for taxes. One of the things I was hoping was that when I was living back in the UK for a few years I'd be able to get my pension updated instead of being frozen at the rate when I originally left the UK.