Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

D.I.Y. or Use a consultant or lawyer?

D.I.Y. or Use a consultant or lawyer?

Old Oct 7th 2010, 6:00 am
Just Joined

ted34 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default D.I.Y. or Use a consultant or lawyer?

Hi Everyone,

I am a self employed plumber from the U.K. am I interested in immigrating to Canada with my wife under the Federal Skilled Worker route.
I was wondering how many of you out there chose to undertake the process yourself or hired a consultant / lawyer to help you and if so who did you choose and how good were / are they.

Many Thanks

Ted.
Old Oct 7th 2010, 6:25 am
Moderαtor Emeritus

iaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: D.I.Y. or Use a consultant or lawyer?

Welcome to BE

Once upon a time there was a poll asking the same thing, and I seem to recall it was about 2:1 in favour of DIY. That might go back to the older process, which was perhaps a bit more complicated, but it gives an idea.

There are good and bad consultants/ lawyers out there, but generally the applicant will end up gathering all the supporting documentation/ evidence for the application, and thats really the hard work.

FWIW there is a wiki on the topic...
http://britishexpats.com/wiki/Catego...on_Consultants

Good Luck!
Old Oct 7th 2010, 6:28 am
Forum Regular