Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Confused - Provincial Nominee Program

Confused - Provincial Nominee Program

Old Nov 4th 2004, 10:00 am
Forum Regular

Brummie is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Confused - Provincial Nominee Program

Scenario - If I'm offered a job in Canada and apply for residency through the PNP, do you get an automatic work permit to start your job asap or do you have to wait here in the UK for the PR visa to be issued?

Just wondering how many employers will be prepared to wait upto 9 months before I could even get over to Canada - not many, if any I think.

Maybe I'm being stupid and haven't read things clearly, but surely no employer with a vacant position that needs filling urgently is going to wait for the immigration process.

BTW I'm a Graphic Designer in the Ad industry, so jobs come and go very quick, just as they do over here.

Cheers
Paul
Old Nov 4th 2004, 2:33 pm

Andrew Miller is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Confused - Provincial Nominee Program

No, you don't get any "automatic" work permit when getting PNP certificate and applying for PR. If you want work permit then you must apply for it separately with properly validated job offer.

Originally Posted by Brummie
Scenario - If I'm offered a job in Canada and apply for residency through the PNP, do you get an automatic work permit to start your job asap or do you have to wait here in the UK for the PR visa to be issued?

Just wondering how many employers will be prepared to wait upto 9 months before I could even get over to Canada - not many, if any I think.

Maybe I'm being stupid and haven't read things clearly, but surely no employer with a vacant position that needs filling urgently is going to wait for the immigration process.

BTW I'm a Graphic Designer in the Ad industry, so jobs come and go very quick, just as they do over here.

Cheers
Paul
Old Nov 4th 2004, 6:24 pm