Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

change in marital status and PR process

change in marital status and PR process

Old Nov 13th 2007, 3:28 am
Just Joined

ICAN is an unknown quantity at this point
Default change in marital status and PR process

Hi Guys
Noob here. Got a quick question for the vets here. I am in the process of gathering all my documents for PR process and before i submit the same, i need to ensure if I get married sometime next year, that won't invalidate my application status. I won't add my spouse to my PR process necessarily. She would file her PR independently sometime later and may be we can move together to canada in 3 years or so. So as far as my PR application is concerned, i would be the sole applicant. the only change would be i would move from a bachelor to a married man.

If it is a simple change of intimating canadian visa office, i might go ahead but if that means i have to start my processing from scratch, i might have to think about postponing either marriage or my PR process. Could you guys help me out here?

Thanks
I-CAN
Old Nov 13th 2007, 4:18 am

Andrew Miller is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: change in marital status and PR process

You don't have such option. You must notify visa post of any change in marital status (or any other substantial and material change) and add spouse to your application, accompanying you or not.

If you applied as single, get married and won't add spouse to your case then your visa will be invalid even if issued. Any attempt to use visa and land without disclosing fact of being married will be a fraud and gets you deported later for good.

Why you don't want to add spouse to your application anyway? Are you believing in some legends spread by misinformed that adding spouse will delay your process?