Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Canadian Citizen moving back with child - help

Canadian Citizen moving back with child - help

Old Sep 9th 2021, 6:43 pm
Just Joined

savannah101 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Canadian Citizen moving back with child - help

Hello,
We currently live in the UK and are looking to move back to Canada permanently in about 9 months. My husband is a canadian citizen (citizen by naturalisation) and I am a permanent resident. We have a 6 year old son. We are looking to move back to Canada in June 2022. I am about to apply for proof of Citizenship for my son (he is definitely Canadian) but I have been informed that the process takes 18 months!
Is there any way to speed it up, or alternatively can we go there and apply from Canada for my son's canadian citizenship?

thank you
Old Sep 9th 2021, 7:41 pm
PMM
Lost in BE Cyberspace

PMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond reputePMM has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Canadian Citizen moving back with child - help

HI

Originally Posted by savannah101
Hello,
We currently live in the UK and are looking to move back to Canada permanently in about 9 months. My husband is a canadian citizen (citizen by naturalisation) and I am a permanent resident. We have a 6 year old son. We are looking to move back to Canada in June 2022. I am about to apply for proof of Citizenship for my son (he is definitely Canadian) but I have been informed that the process takes 18 months!
Is there any way to speed it up, or alternatively can we go there and apply from Canada for my son's canadian citizenship?

thank you