Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Can wife leave before the end of the 3 yrs term without voiding the permit? Please help

Wikiposts

Can wife leave before the end of the 3 yrs term without voiding the permit? Please help

Old Jun 4th 2002, 10:20 am
Sakhr

Default Can wife leave before the end of the 3 yrs term without voiding the permit? Please help

Greetings,

I apologize in advance if this has been discussed before, but I am new to this
newsgroup.

I have the following question regarding Canada immigration and its laws regarding
acquiring the citizenship. I am a Canadian citizen and my wife is a landed
immigrant and we had a baby who was born in Canada. I am planning to leave Canada
this summer to work overseas but I have a concern regarding my wife's immigration
status. On one hand, to wait for her three years term to be completed by remaining
alone here in Canada would be very difficult since we do not have family here. On
the other hand, I am concerned that she would lose her status if we went overseas
and were not able to make these shuttle trips back and forth to Canada to keep the
landed permission alive.

Are there any exceptions or procedures for cases similar to mine? If my wife lost her
immigration status (if there were no procedures for our case and she could not do the
shuttle trips to Canada), would it be difficult to comeback to Canada if, say few
years down the road, I and my baby decide to comeback? Your help is greatly
appreciated.

Best regards, Sakhr.

Old Jun 4th 2002, 11:20 am
Andrew Miller

Default Re: Can wife leave before the end of the 3 yrs term without voiding the permit? Please help

Your wife will lose all the accumulated period of presence in Canada if she leaves
now for few years and she will have to start accumulating it all over after she
returns as only presence in Canada within 4 years immediately preceding citizenship