BG Check help

Old Aug 25th 2005, 5:06 pm
Just Joined

indigshai is an unknown quantity at this point
Default BG Check help

This is my first time on this forum and I see there are a lot of experienced people on this forum.

My question pertains to my PR application at Buffalo, NY. The timeline is as following:

Application Filed : Jan 2004
AOR : Feb 2004
IA : Sept 2004
Med : Oct 2004
FBI, PCC, Other Docs and RPRF : Jan 2005

Around Feb 2005 I sent a fax to CIC requesting a status. I got a letter back stating that BG check is still on may take 6-9 months. I sent a fax in Aug 2005 and got the same reply again!!

Now it is not clear and maybe someone may clarify as I know writing to CIC on this matter is futile:

1) 6-9 months in effect begins from which time? The date the letter from CIC is dated or from say Jan 2005 when they may have got the documents asked. I mean it could not be 6-9 months from two different dates which are about 5 months apart.

2) My medicals expire in Oct 2005 - how can I possibly get not to take these again?

Thanks for the input.
Old Aug 25th 2005, 5:13 pm

Andrew Miller is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: BG Check help

Background/security check is initiated after preliminary selection decision is made (after successful interview or interview waiver) or later if additional info and/or documents have been requested. Process may take anywhere from few months to well over a year to conclude and for some unlucky applicants more than 15 months. In case medicals expire in the meantime request for new medicals is sent.

Originally Posted by indigshai
This is my first time on this forum and I see there are a lot of experienced people on this forum.

My question pertains to my PR application at Buffalo, NY. The timeline is as following:

Application Filed : Jan 2004
AOR : Feb 2004
IA : Sept 2004
Med : Oct 2004
FBI, PCC, Other Docs and RPRF : Jan 2005