Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Better chance of Job offer if have Industrial Electrician Red Seal Qualification?

Better chance of Job offer if have Industrial Electrician Red Seal Qualification?

Old Apr 25th 2014, 12:06 am
Just Joined

Olib1990 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Better chance of Job offer if have Industrial Electrician Red Seal Qualification?

Hi I am an Industrial Electrician and have sent my Challenge Red Seal Application to ITABC on 21/03/2014 (5 weeks ago) and I am very sure I will get approval to sit the exam in the next couple of weeks. I will be flying over and sitting the exam in July 2014 if I get the approval.

Do you think that once I sit the exam and assuming I pass it and become red seal qualified, that I will get more Job offers?

So far I have had 1 job offer after applying for about 50 different jobs throughout Canada. However the job is not in a location we would want to raise a future family. Our ideal location would be Alberta (around Calgary/ Edmonton) or British Columbia (around Cariboo/ Kamloops).

I'm not sure at the moment if the problem is me not having the red seal, or that companies just don't want to apply for an LMO? As there are soooo many job listings so I know electricians are in demand in BC and Alberta.

I suppose it is a big risk for an employer to employ someone from abroad that doesn't have the red seal and if they sponsor them to come over then there is always the chance they might fail the exam, which would be a waste of time for the company....

However if I have the red seal then its just a case of them paying $300 to apply for an LMO, and the biggest risk to them then would be being declined for the LMO and losing $300....

I would be interested to hear other peoples experiences?

Thanks

Oli
Old Apr 25th 2014, 12:20 am
SUPER MODERATOR