Best way to Canada!!

Old Mar 12th 2014, 5:32 am
Just Joined

MatthewShepherd is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Best way to Canada!!

Hi,
What is the best way to get to Calgary??? Do we do it all ourselves or use an agency like IXP Visas. I'm a welder and my wife a photographer. I have my letter from the AIT with regards to converting my qualification to the Canadian equivalent and I've applied for plenty of jobs but so far not a sausage. Whats the best plan of attack!!?

Cheers

Matty
Old Mar 12th 2014, 5:46 am
Banned

Siouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Best way to Canada!!

Welcome to BE!

I wouldn't be using an Immigration Consultant unless you have a background that may cause you problems. A temporary work permit costs $155 and is issued at the port of entry, no forms to fill out. It is illegal for anyone to charge you to find you a job. The company you quoted used to be under a different name and has not got a good reputation.

Alberta has a Temporary Work Permit Pilot Project that allows companies to employ workers for jobs that are in demand without the need of an Labour Market Opinion if they have Provincial (or Red Seal) certification. Welders are on the list. It is also possible to get an open work permit.

https://www.albertacanada.com/files/...steam-pipe.pdf

This would work to your advantage as other jobs require LMO approval before a TWP can be issued.

Are you using a UK based email address? If you are, you are unlikely to have much luck as the employers want somebody to start quite quickly normally. Get yourself a yahoo.ca email.