Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Best strategy for Permanent Residency?

Best strategy for Permanent Residency?

Old Nov 14th 2013, 6:49 pm
Just Joined

decerca is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Best strategy for Permanent Residency?

Hello,

I have lurked for a bit and I must say that your forum is fantastic. I did my Masters in the UK, but I am not British, so I hope I am not breaking your rules by posting here, and if I do, I offer my apologies.

I am a Costarican national and my ultimate goal is to become Permanent Resident in Canada.

I have a Masters in Environment and Sustainable Development from the University of London, and 6 years of experience in project management in environmental organizations in Costa Rica.

I got a Holiday Working Visa for Canada, but this visa is valid for only 1 year and after that period I would have to go back to my country.

Since my visa is for just 1 year, I would like to try and get my Permanent Residency as advanced as possible during this 1 year period and then get an extension of some type to stay in Canada until I finally get my Permanent Residency approved by CIC.

It seems that Provincial Nomination is the shortest route. Still, I would need to have my Nomination Letter by my 8th month in Canada, so that I am eligible for an Open Work Permit and be able to stay working in Canada to finish my PR process with CIC.

Alberta's nomination seems the fastest one, I would apply under Employer-Driven stream, Skilled Worker category, but I have been told that it would be very hard for me to get, since I would have to apply with just a few months of living there, so I'm a less than ideal candidate and there are a lot of people applying with better profiles.

Is it obtaining Permanent Residency in Alberta as hard as they say? Is my proposed timeline possible? What would be the best way for me to become permanent resident?

Many thanks!