Appointing a representative

Old Aug 1st 2005, 5:25 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 208
Kazphillips will become famous soon enoughKazphillips will become famous soon enough
Default Appointing a representative

Hi all

I was/am going to appoint my friend as an unpaid representative.

He emigrated a few years ago and I thought it would be useful having a contact in Canada who can contact CIC if necessary. But if I appoint him does that mean CIC will only deal with him? And not me? If that is the case I would rather not include that form as I want all dealings regarding my application to be through me.

Any advice appreciated?

Thanks

Kaz x
Kazphillips is offline  
Old Aug 1st 2005, 5:28 am
  #2  
Class 1 Driver and Nurse
 
andy_sheila's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Kentville, N.S.
Posts: 1,498
andy_sheila has a reputation beyond reputeandy_sheila has a reputation beyond reputeandy_sheila has a reputation beyond reputeandy_sheila has a reputation beyond reputeandy_sheila has a reputation beyond reputeandy_sheila has a reputation beyond reputeandy_sheila has a reputation beyond reputeandy_sheila has a reputation beyond reputeandy_sheila has a reputation beyond reputeandy_sheila has a reputation beyond reputeandy_sheila has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Appointing a representative

[QUOTE=Kazphillips]Hi all

I was/am going to appoint my friend as an unpaid representative.

He emigrated a few years ago and I thought it would be useful having a contact in Canada who can contact CIC if necessary. But if I appoint him does that mean CIC will only deal with him? And not me? If that is the case I would rather not include that form as I want all dealings regarding my application to be through me.

Any advice appreciated?

Thanks

Hi kaz, One of the experts will be along shortly to give you the right advice but as i understand it, you are right, i.e. if you appoint a rep, CIC will only deal with that rep. Good luck
hth
andy_sheila is offline  
Old Aug 1st 2005, 6:53 am
  #3  
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 8,984
Andrew Miller is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Appointing a representative

Once you appoint a representative then CIC will only communicate with such representative.

There is absolutely no advantage of any kind for appointing anyone other that authorized immigration practitioner as representative. Forget about it.

More - if CIC suspects that your "unpaid representative" is really a paid one just not authorized then you will get your entire application package back few to several months later.


Originally Posted by Kazphillips
Hi all

I was/am going to appoint my friend as an unpaid representative.

He emigrated a few years ago and I thought it would be useful having a contact in Canada who can contact CIC if necessary. But if I appoint him does that mean CIC will only deal with him? And not me? If that is the case I would rather not include that form as I want all dealings regarding my application to be through me.

Any advice appreciated?

Thanks

Kaz x
Andrew Miller is offline  
Old Aug 1st 2005, 7:36 am
  #4  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 208
Kazphillips will become famous soon enoughKazphillips will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Appointing a representative

Thanks guys - that has cleared it all up for me!
Kazphillips is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.