Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Apply for Skilled Worker Visa, Academic, IEC or wait for Express Entry

Apply for Skilled Worker Visa, Academic, IEC or wait for Express Entry

Old Sep 30th 2014, 3:36 am
Just Joined

dr_rob is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Apply for Skilled Worker Visa, Academic, IEC or wait for Express Entry

Dear Expats,

Long time reader, first time poster!

I was hoping to ask you lovely bunch a questions about what my best plan of action would be to get myself into Canada.

Recently I spent time in Toronto and surrounding areas and quite simply loved it. And I am now doing my homework on how to get there, possibly permanently.

A little background, I am a single male, 30 (31 in April 2015) and work as a engineering researcher at a University in the UK. I have a PhD. I am also a Croatian / English national.

My questions... what do you think would be the simplest/quickest/cheapest way of getting myself into Canada? From what I have been reading on the wiki and on these pages...

1) Apply for the skilled worker visa (for which I believe I would qualify).
Looks like a good option, but long processing times and expensive for the language tests, certificates etc.

2) Academic entry.
I have a few friends who are in Canada as post-PhD workers at University and they entered without any problems/visas. However they could only work at the university for the duration of the contract. I am currently looking most at this option.

3) IEC.
Looks brilliant but is some time away with no guarantee of success.

4) The Express Entry system.
Details are a little thin on the ground but it looks interesting.

I really loved my time in Canada and feel strongly that I would integrate well. If I could move tomorrow I would.

Do any of you have any thoughts on what might be the best way to get myself over there?