Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

any ideas how to bump my CRS predicted scores

any ideas how to bump my CRS predicted scores

Old Oct 24th 2020, 6:54 pm
Just Joined

Zaij is an unknown quantity at this point
Question any ideas how to bump my CRS predicted scores

Hello all I've been lurking for a few months and found all of the questions and generous answers really useful.

We're hoping to move to Ontario with PR. I've completed the CRS tool and managed to get a score of 461 with both myself and my partner taking the IELTS (which I did but mistakenly took the academic one so have to do it again!) and ticking yes for a valid LMIA job offer.

I've submitted my CV to Indeed and have been offered 5 different roles after completing zoom interviews however they are all contractor/associate roles rather than full time employed jobs - they've all said that my profession is in need and they were confident that I would be able to be fully employed, but it doesn't help in terms of CRS. My NOC/skill code is 4151/A. Without the job offer my score is 411 (I'm 43).
One of the organisations said they might be willing to consider employing me and so I could contact them again and see if that might be possible, but I don't want to pursue that avenue if I don't have to. There's the possibility that a salaried role would be a lot less than I currently earn (and certainly less than the hourly associate rates I've been quoted) and as the main earner of the family this might make moving difficult (we are a family of 4 - 2 adults and 2 teens), however it seems like this is my only option given my points. I'm reluctant to come over on a work permit, just because of the uncertainty, lack of health benefits initially and the huge potential disruption if something didn't work out.