Wikiposts

Another Citizenship question

Old Mar 25th 2001, 7:12 am
Werner D

To all Experts,

It has now been 3 years since I became a landed immigrant in Canada. I downloaded the
citizenship application from the web and then I saw that the times that I was outside
of Canada - even on business - counts against me.

I am working for a Canadian company, developing Canadian products and then installing
them in Europe.

Is there a way that my employer can provide a letter to this effect and then I don't
have to qualify for the 1095 days over 4 years. At the rate we are doing business
overseas I will never be able to get 1095 days in 4 years.

Is this not a type of discrimination? Because I am a professional person in a senior
position I would not be able to get Canadian Citizenship.

Can I send my wife and children's applications without mine? I was the principle
applicant for immigration. They do have the required 1095 days in Canada.

Thanks Werner Deyzel

Old Mar 25th 2001, 8:08 am
Andrew Miller

Werner,

If you are living in Canada and working for Canadian company, being occasionally sent
abroad to oversee installation of your employer's product then citizenship judge will
take it into account when making a determination. But if you live abroad for several
months at a time it may be difficult to justify such absence.

Your wife and children may apply without you, as soon as they meet residency
requirement.

--

../..

Andrew Miller Immigration Consultant Vancouver, British Columbia email:
[email protected] (delete REMOVE and INVALID from the above address before
sending an email)

>
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >

Old Mar 25th 2001, 9:01 am
Stephen C. Gallagher

>
    >
the
    >
    >

Can you tell us exactly how many days you've been outside Canada since you landed?
Depending upon how many days they are, you may still be eligible for citizenship.