Alberta PNP

Old Feb 27th 2008, 10:14 am
Forum Regular

spooooook is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Alberta PNP

Could anyone assist me with a simple explanation of how the Alberta PNP for skilled workers works?

I am a qualified solicitor in the UK, and would like to obtain PR as quickly as possible. I understand the best means to achieve this is via the PNP. I have previously investigated the requirements to qualify for the Canadian bar, but this would take some considerable time and is something I might consider at a later stage when safely landed in Canada. However, I am desperate to get PR in Alberta as quickly as is possible, so I was wondering whether it would be possible in the meantime to take advantage of my skills and experience to secure a job as a paralegal under the PNP? Or would this sort of job not fall within the program?

Any help, suggestions or pointers as to the best way forward would be much appreciated!

Many thanks.

S.
Old Feb 27th 2008, 10:23 am
Now on Vancouver Island

Judy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Alberta PNP

Hello, spooooook, and welcome to the BE forum.

I would be very surprised if you could get into Alberta through this province's PNP as a paralegal.

Paralegals don't appear amongst the Occupations under Pressure in Alberta, which usually gives one an indication of the fields in which there are labour shortages.