Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Advice required re: long stay in Canada

Wikiposts

Advice required re: long stay in Canada

Old Jan 4th 2005, 6:46 am
Just Joined

BurnleyPete is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Advice required re: long stay in Canada

Hello.
I'm 22 and my current employer is retireing and I want to take the opportunity of staying in canada for 6 months before getting a new job. I'm currently a UK resident and awaiting an immigration application to be decided, however i'm not expecting to hear anything untill I'd get back (said 15 months on the registration card). What i'd like to know is:
1) Can i rent an apartment without having a Canadian social security number
2) Can i buy and legally drive a car in Canada while there
3) Will my pending Immigration Application affect my staying there for that long?
Many thanks for your help.
Old Jan 4th 2005, 7:45 am

Andrew Miller is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Advice required re: long stay in Canada

You can't stay without valid status, period. It is unlikely that CIC will extend your stay for that long. If you do stay illegally you will put in danger your PR application.

Originally Posted by BurnleyPete
Hello.
I'm 22 and my current employer is retireing and I want to take the opportunity of staying in canada for 6 months before getting a new job. I'm currently a UK resident and awaiting an immigration application to be decided, however i'm not expecting to hear anything untill I'd get back (said 15 months on the registration card). What i'd like to know is:
3) Will my pending Immigration Application affect my staying there for that long?
Old Jan 4th 2005, 8:54 am
Just Joined

BurnleyPete is an unknown quantity at this point

Originally Posted by Andrew Miller