6-12 Month Visit???

Old Jan 9th 2008, 8:03 am
Just Joined

manc1982 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 6-12 Month Visit???

Hello All,

I'm 25 based in Manchester, UK and i'm seriously considering a 6-12 month stay in Canada as soon as i've paid off my student overdraft and got some money saved. I've always wanted to travel but to really experience another country and way of life over a period of time rather than spend a brief week or so before moving on. Canada has always appealed to me so i've decided to look into my prospects further.

I've got a few questions about all this really. Firstly is there anyone here who has made this kind of trip on their own? Half of me likes the idea of having no ties and feel it would be an adventure and I could do everything i'd like to. The other half worries it could end up being a bit of an isolating experience.

Secondly, currently in the UK I work in IT Helpdesk Support i'm not on a spectacular wage 19k but I have a few years experience and a few industry qualifications. If possible i'd like to continue this work in Canada maybe working as a contractor. Does this sound a realisitic possibilty or a little far fetched?

Also, i'd like to experience a Canadian city does anyone have any recommendations? Vancouver is the obvious choice I know but i'm just wondering if it might be a little too expensive for me to have a decent standard of living?

I'm glad ive found this place i'm sure i'll find out the things on here they don't tell you on tourist websites!

Thanks for your time,

Chris
Old Jan 9th 2008, 8:12 am
Account Closed

jericho is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: 6-12 Month Visit???

Have you considered BUNAC? This would basically give you an open work permit for a specified period of time, without you requiring an offer of employment.

PS- from what I understand, Vancouver is extremely expensive to live in- certainly in terms of purchasing a property.
Old Jan 9th 2008, 8:20 am
Just Joined