Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Hungary
Reload this Page >

Tax, pension and social cost advice

Tax, pension and social cost advice

Old Nov 28th 2017, 10:37 am
Just Joined

John22 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Tax, pension and social cost advice

Hi all, I am new to this so please be gentle! I am a UK resident who has been offered a temporary job (12 months), by a Hungarian company to help set up a new factory. As the job is only temporary I am not committing to a new life in Hungary but have agreed to work 3 weeks in every 4 in Hungary. Returning to the UK for the 4th week unpaid. I have read that the tax rate is 15%, pension 10% and health and labour market contribution 8.5%. I have no issue with the tax as that seems only right and fair but I have read that you cannot claim a Hungarian pension unless you have contributed for 3 years so it seems I will be throwing 10% of my salary away! Even if I have misunderstood the 3 years it hardly seems worth contributing to a pension for 1 year. In my mind it would be better to contribute into a private pension scheme in the UK. Likewise with the health and labour market contribution if I need medical care for anything other than emergency I will seek it in the UK. I appreciate we all have a social responsibility but I would have thought in my situation it would be fairer to pay tax in Hungary but pay National Insurance in the UK. Can anybody offer any advice if this is possible? And also if it is possible to get tax relief on any private pension contributions like in the UK? I recognise that my situation does not make me an expat but any advice you can offer would be very much appreciated.
Old Nov 28th 2017, 12:32 pm
Just Joined

blackwaterman is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Tax, pension and social cost advice