Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Hungary
Reload this Page >

Electrical equipment

Electrical equipment

Old Apr 3rd 2019, 2:16 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2015
Location: Stockton
Posts: 30
Tonymol is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Electrical equipment

Hi, would a TV and microwave bought in the UK work without a problem in Hungary?
Tonymol is offline  
Old Apr 3rd 2019, 2:25 am
  #2  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Dec 2017
Location: Baranya County very soon
Posts: 56
MarkyP is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Electrical equipment

The microwave definitely will. I would've thought the TV would as they use the same system as the UK. I think the digital terrestrial TV is the same system in Hungary as in the UK, but there aren't as many channels (about 8 I think). You will have no problem if using an external device connected to the TV using an HDMI input. Obviously you will need to use an adaptor or change the plugs to plug it in. I'm taking a UK TV and a microwave to Hungary when I move, so hoping they will work there too.
MarkyP is offline  
Old Apr 3rd 2019, 2:31 am
  #3  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2015
Location: Stockton
Posts: 30
Tonymol is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Electrical equipment

Hi, would it just retune automatically to the Hungarian channels?
Tonymol is offline  
Old Apr 3rd 2019, 4:42 am
  #4  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Dec 2017
Location: Baranya County very soon
Posts: 56
MarkyP is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Electrical equipment

You will most likely have to go into the menu and select autotune or something similar. It's unlikely it will tune itself unless the TV was restored to factory settings.
MarkyP is offline  
Old Apr 3rd 2019, 8:33 am
  #5  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jan 2017
Location: Zala County
Posts: 291
hobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Electrical equipment

I did read somewhere that the t.v visuals will work fine but the audio will not …. I did bring a t.v with me but have only used it with a dvd player … and the microwave works fine as do all the other appliances I brought over !
hobgoblins is offline  
Old Apr 3rd 2019, 11:27 am
  #6  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jul 2016
Location: Szeged
Posts: 284
Szeged is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Electrical equipment

A UK TV will work fine - I have a small Toshiba TV from the uk and use it to watch HU digi channels on. I also was brought a HU TV for christmas (2016) which obviously works in hungary and both are still working fine. I have three TV Ariel sockets in my flat (one in the kichen, bedroom and hallway). I took the cupboards out of my hallway and converted it into a TV area/mini lounge for guests.
Szeged is offline  
Old Apr 3rd 2019, 6:27 pm
  #7  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jan 2019
Location: Nottingham UK but moving to Zabar Hungary
Posts: 31
jetblackonetenth has a reputation beyond reputejetblackonetenth has a reputation beyond reputejetblackonetenth has a reputation beyond reputejetblackonetenth has a reputation beyond reputejetblackonetenth has a reputation beyond reputejetblackonetenth has a reputation beyond reputejetblackonetenth has a reputation beyond reputejetblackonetenth has a reputation beyond reputejetblackonetenth has a reputation beyond reputejetblackonetenth has a reputation beyond reputejetblackonetenth has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Electrical equipment

Originally Posted by hobgoblins
I did read somewhere that the t.v visuals will work fine but the audio will not …. I did bring a t.v with me but have only used it with a dvd player … and the microwave works fine as do all the other appliances I brought over !
I think in the old days (don't ask me how I know about them ) with the analogue signal a UK tv had no sound because the sound wave was in a different frequency, but with the age of digital TV I believe it is ok now
jetblackonetenth is offline  
Old Apr 3rd 2019, 6:29 pm
  #8  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jan 2017
Location: Zala County
Posts: 291
hobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond reputehobgoblins has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Electrical equipment

Originally Posted by jetblackonetenth
I think in the old days (don't ask me how I know about them ) with the analogue signal a UK tv had no sound because the sound wave was in a different frequency, but with the age of digital TV I believe it is ok now
Yes, that makes sense … I guess the article I was reading was referring to analogue broadcasts as there is no reason why digital shouldn't work !
hobgoblins is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.