British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Hungary (https://britishexpats.com/forum/hungary-140/)
-   -   IT Contract in Budapest / Tax liability (https://britishexpats.com/forum/hungary-140/contract-budapest-tax-liability-894815/)

TheBritishOracle Apr 1st 2017 8:02 pm

IT Contract in Budapest / Tax liability

Hi there, I'm hoping someone can give me some advice on this. I've had a search of this forum for 'tax' and 'contractors' but can't find anything relevant to my situation.

I work in IT and I'm a UK based British citizen, I'm currently considering a contract to work in Budapest for 6 months, possibly extended to 12. As put to me by the agent the payment would be made to me via my UK LTD company. The value/income would be around £2000 per month. I will be maintaining my British home and I also plan to leave Hungary for holidays during my contract even if I extend it to the 12 months so I don't believe I'd fall foul of the 183 day rule.

So my question is this, in the scenario I've described, would I be liable to pay Hungarian income tax and social security, or could it all be handled by my UK company?

Is anyone else in a similar situation?

I've also tried searching contractor forums but everyone seems baffled by Hungary, even after contacting Hungarian accountants!

Thanks in advance for any advise or insight anyone can offer.

Szeged Apr 1st 2017 10:42 pm

Re: IT Contract in Budapest / Tax liability

You would need to get a tax code from Hungary and a TAJ Card (Social Security/NI Card) as you would be working in Hungary and have income produced by a Hungarian company (i.e. you would be creating an income from Hungary); thus liable for tax.

However, there is the dual tax option to explore.....

Szeged Apr 1st 2017 11:07 pm

Income taxes abroad - Hungary - Your Europe

TheBritishOracle Apr 2nd 2017 1:10 am

Hi, thanks for your reply.