Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Germany
Reload this Page >

I need help to move to Germany

I need help to move to Germany

Old Sep 7th 2017, 1:54 pm
Just Joined

LewisDastur is an unknown quantity at this point
Default I need help to move to Germany

I am a young British aircraft engineer that is due to move to Germany for a new job in November with my partner and wondered if anyone could give me any tips to make the move as smooth as possible.

My new employer is sorting out my accommodation but I am struggling to find helpful information on things like car insurance and if I have to buy a German car or can I get a left hand drive car from a neighbouring country. I don't know if I'll need a German bank account, and if I'll need to inform the government in the U.K. and Germany about my move.

Any information would be massively appreciated as I'll be honest I have no idea what I'm doing haha.
Old Sep 7th 2017, 3:30 pm
Account Closed

scrubbedexpat0105 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: I need help to move to Germany

You can import a car, from the UK (whether your own or not), or a car bought in a third country, or you can buy a car there. The import process is however hassle and you'll probably have enough on your plate. It's probably easier to buy a car in Germany, though it has to be said that used car prices in Germany are appreciably higher than in the UK (at least for the older cars in my price range!).

It will at best be very inconvenient not to have a German bank account That's no problem though; open an account with a German bank when you get there.

To the best of my knowledge you don't need to inform the UK government that you've left. There may be other parties that you should inform, e.g. your GP.

You register with the local German authorities (Einwohnermeldeamt, town hall) when you've moved into your accommodation. Do it promptly.