Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > France
Reload this Page >

woodburner c/heating

woodburner c/heating

Old Sep 28th 2009, 2:04 pm
Just Joined

Docthebiker is an unknown quantity at this point
Default woodburner c/heating

This chateau has a oil burner the size of a small car and we plain can't afford to heat the whole house or run it for the small part we inhabit. We have acres of free wood hence the wood burner.

I'm putting in a big old wood burning arga (sp?) with a back boiler to run 4 or 5 radiators on the existing but redundant oil burner system.
I'm a good plumber so connecting it is no problem but I'm wondering about the set up.
I don't have a header tank so I'd prefer to take water from the main on demand.

As the radiators are 15 feet above the boiler I'm thinking it won't need to be a pumped system since convection should work (?). I would put a pump in for better efficiency but the danger then is if the power cuts (in typically french fashion) then the burning wood in the stove keeps heating the water trapped in the boiler and BANG!.

Can anyone advise?

If anyone know a plumber (who knows what they are doing) in the Jura area willing to work with what I have for a few hundred euros, rather then try and sell me all the new kit they think I should have for thousands of euros (which I don't have).
I'm not looking for perfect or a long term set up. I just want to take the chill off of a few bedrooms without the usual huge electricity bills.
Old Sep 28th 2009, 7:12 pm
jdr
RETIRED ;-))

jdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: woodburner c/heating

Originally Posted by Docthebiker