Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > France
Reload this Page >

Renting in France, working in the UK

Renting in France, working in the UK

Old Apr 29th 2008, 9:54 am
Just Joined

brownbear is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Renting in France, working in the UK

Hi, hopefully someone can give us some help to answer our ever increasing questions!
Very briefly my husband and I are moving to the Aquitaine region next month with a view to buying some land and building a house. Firstly, we will need to rent somewhere while we find the land and also to make sure we are happy there. Secondly, my husband is self employed in the UK, working from home and hoping to continue this in France. Thirdly, we are expecting our first baby in October and would like to have the baby in France. Finally, I am a Primary teacher and would like to continue working for a while but would not expect maternity pay. I speak intermediate French and we both intend to learn to converse fluently with lessons and living in France.

So... our questions are:
Can we rent a place in the Landes region without having jobs in France? We could pay a year in advance.
Where do we pay tax if working as self employed in the UK but living in France?
How will the medical system work for us if we intend to have a baby in France?
Is it likely that I will get a job as an English teacher or work in a nursery/primary school?

Thanks to anyone who has any advice, we are panicking a bit!
Old Apr 29th 2008, 12:59 pm
dmu
Lost in BE Cyberspace

dmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Renting in France, working in the UK

Originally Posted by brownbear