Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > France
Reload this Page >

New job problems... please help me.

New job problems... please help me.

Old Sep 16th 2018, 8:13 pm
Just Joined

flossiebee is an unknown quantity at this point
Default New job problems... please help me.

Hello everyone, I’m back again.

I desperately need some advice from someone who knows the French employment side of things because I’m really struggling here. This may be long, so bear with me please. I’ll be so grateful for any advice I can get.

I recently started my new job, and I’m really worried about a few things. I work as an English teacher (mi-temps, CDII). My contract states I’m meant to work 20-25 hours a week but the company I work for is currently unable to give me these hours as there aren’t enough clients. My boss was going to start the sécu process for me but has since changed her mind, although she said I may be paid later than my other colleagues because of this. Is that legal?

Also I was wondering how much time employers legally have to give you if they’re changing your hours. Tonight, for example, she has emailed me to change my hours for tomorrow (not even 24hr notice). This is the 3rd time she has done this in as many weeks. I understand it’s difficult as there are clients involved, but I don’t appreciate the fact that she has most likely known since yesterday that she would change my hours (business isn’t open on sundays) and didn’t call me or text me to let me know.

Last week I worked my one day off to go and meet a potential client just out of good will, but I’m worried that my boss took that as a ‘go-ahead’ to change my hours last minute. I’ve looked online and I’m unsure if the 3 days minimum notice applies to me, so that’s why I’m asking on here.