Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > France
Reload this Page >

Moving to France as an EU citizen

Moving to France as an EU citizen

Old Jan 22nd 2020, 1:57 pm
Forum Regular

lambchops is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving to France as an EU citizen

Hi everyone, I am a newbie to this part of the forum and I wondered if anyone had any knowledge of the position in terms of Healthcare in France. My husband and I (both early retirees 50 & 59) who are both UK citizens planning to move to France post Brexit . Although we are both UK citizens, my husband qualifies for Irish citizenship through foreign birth by descent but is there an issue if my husband has no income as an EU Citizen (will have substantial savings) and our only source of regular income is from the non-EU Citizen.

I have searched the internet thoroughly (French / Irish / EU sites) but cannot find a definitive answer. I understand as the spouse of an EU Citizen, I am allowed to reside in France with my husband but would my husband need to register as seeking work in order to be covered by the French HealthCare system and would I be covered and if not, I am assuming I would need to have my own private healthcare?

Thanks in advance
Lambs
Old Jan 22nd 2020, 3:44 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

EuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond reputeEuroTrash has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Moving to France as an EU citizen

You don't have to be working to access healthcare. Once you've resided legally in France for 3 months as a self supporting inactive you qualify for exactly the same healthcare as workers.