Reload this Page >

Moving to France with 2yr old-single mama

Moving to France with 2yr old-single mama

Old Jan 3rd 2016, 4:07 pm
Just Joined

ExpactMama83 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving to France with 2yr old-single mama

Hi

I'm 32, married but I'm thinking of ending it. I have a 2 yr old and always regret not experiencing life abroad! Lots of travel but no extended time. I feel the time maybe right, I'm sick of the UK rat race, child care expense, mortgage ,weather, there is really nothing here for me anymore I feel. And my work contract ends in August. I have been learning French for a few years at B1 lower intermediate level, I have French speaking pen pals and still studying! I love the language. I'm undecided on the area to relocate to but I'd love to have warm weather, cheap rent, decent school, and a very multicultural area. I thought of Lyon or the south where weather is fine.

My questions are
What advice would you give a single mum in her 30s with a toddler about relocating to France?
Where is cheap to rent generally but in particular the south?
I'm a qualified teacher is it easy to secure work? But I'm happy to leave teaching and work at the supermarket or hotel cleaner!
Is it better to secure work before or upon arrival? What area is good fir work?
Any advice on CV and cover letter prep?

Where the bloody hell do I start once I decide to relocate bearing in mind my 2 year old?

Tips on finding a nursery my boy be 3 by the time we leave?
I think that's all for now, I'm deadly serious about this i have thought about it many times my home life situations and unenthusiastic husband stopped me, my baby is young confident and I'm sure once i improve my French we be fine i have no expectations of France apart from a new start, nice weather and a future for me and my son.

Look forward to hearing from you
Old Jan 3rd 2016, 4:12 pm