Reload this Page >

Relocating to France 🇫🇷

Relocating to France 🇫🇷

Old Dec 24th 2017, 6:39 pm
Just Joined

JimmyS30 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Relocating to France 🇫🇷

Hi guys,

Me and my fiancé currently live in the UAE, we are British nationals and are looking to relocate back to Europe. We want to move to France, I can speak moderate French and my fiancé is semi fluent. Can anyone give any help/tips or has done a similar thing and can give advice? I am an armoured vehicle mechanical technician (7 years experience) and my fiancé is a primary school teacher (5 years experience)

Any help will be much appreciated.
Old Dec 25th 2017, 4:02 am
BE Forum Addict

quiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond reputequiltman has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Relocating to France 🇫🇷

Why France? What is the attraction drawing you towards relocating there?

I think you will struggle.....
Presumably an armoured vehicle technician could retrain as say, an HGV technician? Even so, I don't think either the armed forces or the Gendarmarie would entertain you without fluent French, if at all, as you probably need to be a French citizen for these type of posts. Unemployment in France is quite high at the moment as well.
your fiance will also struggle ,unless she can get a post in an International school where the teaching is in English. She would need French qualifications I assume for a French school plus the curriculum is completely different to UK and again jobs are difficult to get.
not counting health insurance etc plus of course French Bureaucracy!!!