Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Far East and Asia
Reload this Page >

Notebook Computer to Vietnam

Notebook Computer to Vietnam

Old Jun 27th 2002, 11:52 pm
Just Joined

suntzu is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Notebook Computer to Vietnam

I want to bring my notebook computer over to Vietnam and was wondering if there was anything I should watch for when I go through customs? Is there anything I have to pay to get my computer through like a tax or something?

I'm worried because the last few times I've brought a CD player and a camcorder they made me pay. They told me that if I didn't pay I'd have to leave my stuff there and I could get it when I go through customs again. Basically I don't want to bring my computer over there and have to leave it to possible theft.

I'm a poor college student and would hate it if I had to swallow $2000 worth of computer because of one mistake. Any input is great. Thanks in advance.
Old Jun 28th 2002, 5:20 pm
Alfred M .

Default Re: Notebook Computer to Vietnam

In article <[email protected]>, [email protected] says...
    > I want to bring my notebook computer over to Vietnam and was wondering if there was
    > anything I should watch for when I go through customs? Is there anything I have to
    > pay to get my computer through like a tax or something?
    >
    > I'm worried because the last few times I've brought a CD player and a camcorder
    > they made me pay. They told me that if I didn't pay I'd have to leave my stuff
    > there and I could get it when I go through customs again. Basically I don't want to
    > bring my computer over there and have to leave it to possible theft.
    >
    > I'm a poor college student and would hate it if I had to swallow $2000 worth of
    > computer because of one mistake. Any input is great. Thanks in advance.

Don't know about Vietnam, but I've been travelling with a notebook, digital camera,