Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe
Reload this Page >

No Switzerland forum?

No Switzerland forum?

Old Apr 3rd 2008, 3:03 pm
Cat (Mad) Sitter

Location: Anywhere and Everywhere, we're International House Sitters! :)
Water Lily has a reputation beyond reputeWater Lily has a reputation beyond reputeWater Lily has a reputation beyond reputeWater Lily has a reputation beyond reputeWater Lily has a reputation beyond reputeWater Lily has a reputation beyond reputeWater Lily has a reputation beyond reputeWater Lily has a reputation beyond reputeWater Lily has a reputation beyond reputeWater Lily has a reputation beyond reputeWater Lily has a reputation beyond repute
Smile No Switzerland forum?

Hello all, I'm a newbie

I hope I'm allowed to join you! Only I'm neither a Brit nor an Expat... BUT... I've lived in the UK since 1996, I'm married to a Brit and we're hoping to become expats soon, does that qualify me?

Anyway, the truth is we were looking at trying our luck in New Zealand, have submitted our expression of interest and it's currently being looked at.... but in the meantime, I've been told great things about Switzerland, so I thought I'd have a look to see what other expats thought... I've also been told there's lots of British people living out there? If this is true, how come they don't have their own forum??

I guess the one thing that worries me most is the language barrier, I'm told most people use English at the workplace, is this true?? Of course we would want to learn the local language eventually as this opens up so many more opportunities (I'm not just talking about work here, but socially, etc), but it'd certainly help if we didn't have to worry about it from day one, at least not to earn money to pay the bills!

Anybody out there who could give us some pointers, please? Also, do you need any permits to work in the country, or is EU citizenship enough??

Guess that's enough for a fist post!