Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe
Reload this Page >

Advice - Applying for residency in poland

Advice - Applying for residency in poland

Old Mar 19th 2009, 11:40 am
Just Joined

flighty is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Advice - Applying for residency in poland

I am a business manager who may well be transferring from the UK to Poland and I would like some help to understand the above. I had a conviction for assault when I was much much younger (14 years ago) which was a stupid mistake I have since learned from and I am now in a respected position at a large company.

My worry is that I have heard there can be checks on this as part of the residency permit application (at the discretion of the authorities they can ask for evidence of no convictions in your home country?). My conviction was a long time ago and not serious (and it did not stop me getting a work permit for the US in the past) but I would like to know
1) will I have to declare it (in the uk I don't have to declare it as it was so long ago) or supply evidence of no convictions
2) would it affect my chances of getting a permit to stay and work in poland for 2 years

any info/advice would be appreciated!
Old Mar 19th 2009, 8:43 pm
BE Enthusiast

Celtic Princess is a glorious beacon of lightCeltic Princess is a glorious beacon of lightCeltic Princess is a glorious beacon of lightCeltic Princess is a glorious beacon of lightCeltic Princess is a glorious beacon of lightCeltic Princess is a glorious beacon of lightCeltic Princess is a glorious beacon of lightCeltic Princess is a glorious beacon of lightCeltic Princess is a glorious beacon of lightCeltic Princess is a glorious beacon of lightCeltic Princess is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Advice - Applying for residency in poland

Are you British? If so, you are an EU citizen so have the right to live and work in any EU state. You do not need to apply for a permit to do so.
Old Mar 19th 2009, 9:07 pm
Just Joined