Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

Would i get in aus as an electrician?

Would i get in aus as an electrician?

Old Mar 11th 2011, 7:40 pm
Forum Regular

chris76 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Would i get in aus as an electrician?

Hi all

I've posted this in the australian thread but realise it would be best here

Well ive filled out the online form and just had the guy on the phone who has e-mailed me the info to get the ball rolling.However i have a few queries before i get going.

First of all he said its going to cost around £5.5k over the 12/13 month period! Is this right or am i dealing with a company?

I have prelimnary qualified on a 175 visa as a general electrician.
I have NVQ 2380/2391 and 2382 in this field all level 3. Been registered with the NICEIC and NAPIT since 2004 (have all previous certificates)However did not complete a college based electrical apprenticeship.

I told the guy on the phone that i am also a qualified gas fitter having the current ACS qualifications for natural gas cookers/central heating. Been registered with corgi and Gas safe the last 13 years again have all previous certificates,however have not completed a gas/plumbing college based apprenticeship.

I currently have been fitting kitchens self employed for the last 13years doing my own gas and electrical work.

I noticed on the skills occupation list that gas fitter,joiner and electrician was on there but chose the electrician route as i feel the most comfortable with this and if had to nominate one of the 3 jobs,this would be it.

The problem is when i told the guy i was also registered as a gas fitter and was fitting kitchens he said if i'm applying as an electrician i would need to prove i've been doing electrical work for 20hours/week for the last number of x years.